All About Mii

my blog is filled with lite-devotionals, some thoughts, just stuff from my world

Sarah Cynthia Sylvia Stout would not take the garbage out~

Sarah Cynthia Sylvia Stout   would not take the garbage out!     She’d scour the pots and scrape the pans, Candy the yams and spice the hams,   And though her daddy would scream and shout,   She simply would not take the garbage out.     And so it piled up to the ceilings:   Coffee grounds, potato peelings, Brown bananas, rotten peas,  Chunks of sour cottage cheese.    It filled the can, it covered the floor,  it cracked the window and blocked the door.   With bacon rinds and chicken bones,  Drippy ends of ice cream cones, …..

Prune pits, peach pits, orange peel,   Gloppy glumps of cold oatmeal,  Pizza crusts and withered greens,  Soggy beans and tangerines,   Crusts of black burned buttered toast,   Gristly bits of beefy roasts…..

……The garbage rolled on down the hall,   It raised the roof, it broke the wall……Greasy napkins, cookie crumbs,  Globs of gooey bubble gum,   Cellophane from green baloney,   Rubbery blubbery macaroni,  Peanut butter, caked and dry,   Curdled milk and crusts of pie,   Moldy melons, dried-up mustard,   Eggshells mixed with lemon custard, Cold french fries and rancid meat,   Yellow clumps of Cream of Wheat.

At last the garbage reached so high  that is finally touched the sky.    And all the neighbors moved away,  And none of her friends would come to play.      And finally Sarah Cynthia Stout said,  “Okay, I’ll take the garbage out!” 

But then, of course, it was too late….

The garbage reached across the state,  From New York to the Golden Gate.    And there, in the garbage she did hate,   Poor Sarah met an awful fate,  That I cannot right now relate   Because the hour is much too late.

….But children, remember Sarah Stout….. AND always take the garbage out!

January 2, 2010 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Our House Blessing to all…

This is a poem, “Our House Blessing to All Who Enter Here” … I want to extend this as a blessing over this blog..just as if it were a house, and all who come by to visit are my guests.   May this place be a blessing for you.

Be it elegant and spacious or simple and small; Our friendly home welcomes you when you come to call.   There is rest for the wreary, food lovingly prepared;  whatever God has given us is willingly shared.

Perfection doesn’t live here!  Please try to understand, we’re still under constuction by our Father’s loving hand.   If you seed goodness and beauty,  it’s not virtue of our own,  For we serve a risen Savior, all the credit is His alone.

Is there anything you need that burdens you with care?   He graciously answers when we ask in believing prayer.   A blessing comes upon you when you enter this place;   The Lord himself is pleased to dwell in hearts He’s touched with grace.   ~by Elaine Hardt~

January 2, 2010 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment

The Month After Christmas

Twas the month after Christmas, and all through the house~ nothing would fit me, not even a blouse.  The cookies I’d nibbled, the eggnog I’d taste at the holiday parties, had gone to my waist.  When I got on the scales there arose such a number!   When I walked to the store (less a walk than a lumber).

I’d remember the marvelous meals I’d prepared; the gravies and sauces and beef nicely rared.  The wine and the rum balls, the bread and the cheese and the way I’d never said, “No thank you, please”.   As I dressed myself  in my husband’s old shirt and prepared once again to do battle with dirt–as I said to myself, as I only can– “You can’t spend a winter disguised as a man!”   SO~away with last of the sour cream dip, get rid of the fruit cake, every cracker and chip every last bit of food that I like must be banished till all the additional ounces have vanished.  I won’t have a cookie–not even a lick.   I’ll want  only to chew on a long celery stick.   I won’t have biscuits, or corn bread, or pie, I’ll  munch on a carrot and quietly cry.

I’m hungry, I’m lonesome, and life is a bore–But isn’t that what January is for?    Unable to giggle, no longer a riot.   Happy New Year to all and all a good diet!

By~Schwartzie~

I’ve had this poem for quite some time, thought now would be a good time to share it.  ~mii

January 2, 2010 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Sowing Blessings in the new year…

here we are in this brand new year, already into the second day..lets make it a good one!    Be blessed.   Here’s a poem I ran across. 

Sowing Blessings

If you want to make a difference in other people’s lives, be thoughtful and considerate, be slow to criticize.

Be helpful when you’re needed, let others know you care, be patient and forgiving when hurts are hard to bear.

Do always unto others as you’d have done to you, for when you sow God’s blessings, you’ll reap His harvest too.

by Vi B. Chevalier

What a wonderful poem.   What a wonderful way to start this new year! 

Hugs,  Mii

January 2, 2010 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment